Book Review: “Aloof: Figuring Out Life with a God Who Hides” by Tony Kriz

_240_360_Book.1465.coverTitle: Aloof Figuring Out Life with a God Who Hides

Author:  Tony Kriz

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Publisher Description: “God, are you there?” is a near universal cry of the human heart.

We have all longed for God to be tangible. Some might sway to worship music, others go on missions, others fast from food. The universal quest is to feel the divine . . . and yet the divine seems aloof, even shy. In this narrative-driven book, Tony Kriz leads the reader on a journey of “orchestrated epiphanies” along the eternal quest to tangibly encounter God, including the unpredictable moments that give us hope, and even more so, the long gaps between those moments that challenge our faith.

Written in an authentic, conversational style, Aloof is easily accessible to those who don’t know much about the Bible, yet the message is still theologically informed and culturally relevant. This book will help you process how God acts uniquely towards us, depending upon each stage of life. The chapters include contemporary real-life stories that normalize the experience of an often hidden God, while also aiding the reader to acknowledge the very real moments (rare though they may be) when God has shown up in a tangible way.

Brief Review:

Most of the book reviews I do contain tidbits that stand out above others that make a book great. As with his prior work, Tony Kriz’s Aloof is a standout from start to finish. He weaves through stories of loss, illness, and death in a way that is honest and revealing of his own life and struggles.

Doubt is something that all Christians deal with. We have mountain top experiences where it feels like God is right beside us and we have moments where we are in valleys and feel as if God is hiding. Kriz adds a brilliant voice to the latter as he examines his own moments of feeling apart from God and navigates the murky waters the church so often ignores of diminishing faith in need of rekindling.

I found this book to be personally helpful in my life and my theology. Kriz has always had a way of taking the words in my mind that I keep to myself and making them public. After reading this book, I recognized the need in my own life to be more forthright and honest in my struggles as a believer, mentor, and Seminary student. He has a way of connecting directly to the reader that is seldom matched in other books and is very refreshing!

People have a perception that Christians are supposed to be constantly gleeful and carefree. Kriz pushes back and pushes back well. His rally cry for rest is one worth considering and a worthy practice to pursue finding God again.

I give this book a perfect five out of five stars and it is a must for every Christian to own.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Published by

charlestinsley

My name is Charlie Tinsley and I blog about The Bible. In particular, I post my thoughts, commentaries, and Bible Study teachings I have done. I hold a Bachelors Degree in Science in Religion Summa Cum Laude with a Biblical Studies Minor. I am currently studying for a Masters In Divinity at Eastern Mennonite Seminary with PhD ambitions in the study of Theology. I am married and have been for several years and I currently reside in Virginia.

Leave a Reply

