Bible review: NIV Proclamation Bible

_240_360_Book.1496.cover

Publisher: Zondervan

I admit it, I’m a Timothy Keller admirer. My bookshelf has a whole section of just his writings, so I respect what he has to say. It should be no surprise, then, that his endorsement of the NIV Proclamation Bible caught my attention quickly. When I received the Bible, I knew I was in for a worthy addition to my library from the onset.

First of all, NIV is one of, if not, THE most popular translation in our day. It is approachable, adaptable, and certainly heading towards better inclusive language which even the NRSV is still working on for all the acclamation it receives in that department. Because it is in NIV, the reading is familiar and easy to approach.

Secondly, this Bible includes numerous essays at the beginning of it. These essays cover the ins and outs of Biblical interpretation, study, and group studies. It provides outlines, concepts, and ideas to better approach the Bible and study it among small groups, student groups, or self-study.

That said, there is a tradeoff of sorts. There are ample cross references on passages which are beyond helpful. As Christians, we look back for affirmation in the Old Testament and this Bible is certainly great for that. Where it lacks is in notes on passages explaining them. There is little commentary on anything. In fact, the only commentary to be found is in the introduction to each book of the Bible, and even then, the introductions are pretty basic.

All this said, I still believe it is a great addition to any library because of the great essays for study and the detailed cross references. Did I mention there is a concordance as well?  That makes this a great Study Bible to compliment a Bible that has verse descriptions but lacks the other features the NIV Proclamation Bible offers.

I give the NIV Proclamation Bible 3.5 out of 5 stars. As a Study Bible, it is not able to stand alone.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Published by

charlestinsley

My name is Charlie Tinsley and I blog about The Bible. In particular, I post my thoughts, commentaries, and Bible Study teachings I have done. I hold a Bachelors Degree in Science in Religion Summa Cum Laude with a Biblical Studies Minor. I am currently studying for a Masters In Divinity at Eastern Mennonite Seminary with PhD ambitions in the study of Theology. I am married and have been for several years and I currently reside in Virginia.

Leave a Reply

