Bible Review: NIV Discover God’s Heart Devotional Bible

_240_360_Book.1411.cover

 

Bible: NIV Discover God’s Heart Devotional Bible

Publisher: Zondervan

The NIV Discover God’s Heart Devotional Bible is a brilliant Bible that focuses on devotions and finding one’s place within the heart of God. Chapters of books are grouped together for the various devotions present throughout the Bible in a way that themes stories, shapes understanding, and fosters an intimate relationship with God.

 

The back of this Bible has options for reading plans which are a welcomed addition and something that seems to be missing from many modern day Bibles. The NIV Text, is, as always, very approachable and ecumenically sound.

 

The Bible is a bit smaller in size than other study Bibles (not content wise!). I would suggest the smaller feel makes this Bible feel more like a devotional and something that is personal.

 

There is little exegesis or passage explanation to be found which is troubling, but understood at the same time. This Bible is for devotionals specifically and not necessarily a Bible Study tool. Although one could use the devotions as a starting place for further investigation.

 

I would recommend this Bible to anyone who needs a new NIV Bible and a devotional. It is great to have the text right in front of you instead of having to go back and forth between a devotional and a Bible as some devotionals present themselves.

 

Overall, I give this Bible 4 out of 5 stars.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Published by

charlestinsley

My name is Charlie Tinsley and I blog about The Bible. In particular, I post my thoughts, commentaries, and Bible Study teachings I have done. I hold a Bachelors Degree in Science in Religion Summa Cum Laude with a Biblical Studies Minor. I am currently studying for a Masters In Divinity at Eastern Mennonite Seminary with PhD ambitions in the study of Theology. I am married and have been for several years and I currently reside in Virginia.

Leave a Reply

