Book Review of “All In Student Edition”

_240_360_Book.1141.coverBook: All In Student Edition

Authors: Mark Batterson and Parker Batterson

Publisher: Zondervan

All In Student Edition by Matt and Parker Batterson is a book written by a pastor and his son about making the bold decision to follow Jesus and live boldly in one’s faith. This book is masterfully written and a “call to arms” so to speak. Worth specifically mentioning is the story of Joshua Chamberlain changing the tide of the Civil War despite a small troop size and minimal ammunition. The authors use this story to convey the message that followers of Christ should be ready to answer His call even when they seemingly have no means of getting it done. In short: God will provide.

The authors also use several other inspiring stories to get their message across. The stories work well together and illustrate the blessings found in following Christ against all odds. As they remind the reader “You cannot be in the presence of God and be bored at the same time.”, there is a consecration of one’s self God has called the believer to through Christ and that is where our life is found and our release from boredom arrives. This book is an easy read and very hard to put down. Once the writers put their feet on the gas pedal, there is no slowing down. Much like the opening speech in the movie “Patton”, this book is a great rally cry for the Christ led life.

I would recommend this book to any believer struggling in their faith, looking for a good example of what radical abandonment is all about, or wavering between their fears and the life God is calling them to. This book was a personal blessing in my life at just the right time as my wife and I prepare to take a leap of faith as God calls me to the next chapter of our lives. What an outstanding read.

This book is a solid 4 out of 5 stars. I only wish it were a bit longer so more inspiring stories could be told.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Published by

charlestinsley

My name is Charlie Tinsley and I blog about The Bible. In particular, I post my thoughts, commentaries, and Bible Study teachings I have done. I hold a Bachelors Degree in Science in Religion Summa Cum Laude with a Biblical Studies Minor. I am currently studying for a Masters In Divinity at Eastern Mennonite Seminary with PhD ambitions in the study of Theology. I am married and have been for several years and I currently reside in Virginia.

One thought on “Book Review of “All In Student Edition””

  1. “inspiring stories” Yes there is that. Biblical stories: No. Bible versers? Some, but most were out of context. Did you take Batterson’s teachings and hold them to the light of God’s Word? How about some discernment?

Leave a Reply

