Book Review of Raised?: Finding Jesus by Doubting the Resurrection

_233_380_Book.1143.cover

 

Book: Raised?: Finding Jesus by Doubting the Resurrection

Authors: Jonathan K. Dodson and Brad Watson

Publisher: Zondervan

The book Raised?: Finding Jesus by Doubting the Resurrection is a very quick read. In fact, it is a book that is only 100 pages. The book is a simple read that serves as a very brief introduction to apologetics. By minimal, I mean minimal. So minimal in fact, that the book contains a list of suggested reads (I recommend the Keller book suggested as a good compliment to this book) that dive into much more detail than this one seems to do.

The points regarding the biblical impact of the resurrection are valid, but the apologetics used to set them up really do little in the way of reaching any skeptic. The book claims to be for Christians and non-Christians alike yet there appears to be little in the way of grabbing the attention of the non-believer. If anything, this book is a great fallback resource for the believer to refine their faith in Christ’s resurrection.

One of the more memorable statements made in this book occurs in the first chapter when the authors argue that the conflicting reports among the Gospel accounts of the Resurrection is no reason to discredit them and they make the case that historians concede there are conflicting reports in regards to Hannibal’s crossing of the Alps, but no historian denies that the event happened (page 12).

I would recommend this book to believers. All believers struggle with their faith from time to time and having an easily approachable apologetics resource is a great boost to faith. Non-believers will find little to sway them in this book.

Overall, I give this book a 3/5 as a short crash course on the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Published by

charlestinsley

My name is Charlie Tinsley and I blog about The Bible. In particular, I post my thoughts, commentaries, and Bible Study teachings I have done. I hold a Bachelors Degree in Science in Religion Summa Cum Laude with a Biblical Studies Minor. I am currently studying for a Masters In Divinity at Eastern Mennonite Seminary with PhD ambitions in the study of Theology. I am married and have been for several years and I currently reside in Virginia.

Leave a Reply

