Is Religion Rational? Is The Devil’s Existence Eternal?

Religions are always thought of to be based on faith and not reason. I see where it comes from. After all, the two terms are practically interchangeable. However, such an assertion misses the wider scope of religions. By all accounts, the vast majority of religions are founded on the rationale of love and respect. Regardless of what the books contain, the basic virtue of universal love is emphasized. Love for one another, love for nature, love for the future, ect. I cannot explain why God acted and commanded as He did in the Old Testament. To explain the thought and actions of God as if I know with certainty is just like me saying I am God. If I could completely understand each and everything He did, I, too, would be a god.

To some, that presents a problem. That is, am I just a blind sheep being led to the slaughter? I don’t see it that way. If God does indeed exist, who are any of us to question Him? I would say that based on the fact this planet (let alone the universe) are still intact after the way we treat it all are evidence of how great God’s love is. If that perfect being does exist, He surely has the capacity to destroy us without warning any day He chooses. We are destroying the planet He is said to have created. That is love.

As a sidebar, people claim The Holy Bible of Christianity talks of an end to the world. I still have yet to find such an assertion. Infact, if one recalls the story of Noah, God said He would never do what He did with the flood again. I feel we try to interpret an Armageddon type war as an end to the world when such an assertion is clearly not the case. Nor does it say the Devil will be “destroyed”. That is a clear demonstation of not only God’s Love, but the kind of Love Christians are called to exhibit for the scummiest of the scumbags.

That is not to say I love the devil. It is to say that I feel God continues to give the devil the opportunity to repent and be saved because God is a God of Love and wants to see everyone seek salvation. Ultimately, we all know that the Devil will never repent because he is said to be the representation of pure evil and wickedness.

It is the unfortunate “Gotcha” of Christianity we don’t want to venture into. That is: If God ever destroyed the Devil, He would destroy all evil with him. In effect, that takes away our free will we enjoy, because there will only be one path to choose in life: The Good Path.

Published by

charlestinsley

My name is Charlie Tinsley and I blog about The Bible. In particular, I post my thoughts, commentaries, and Bible Study teachings I have done. I hold a Bachelors Degree in Science in Religion Summa Cum Laude with a Biblical Studies Minor. I am currently studying for a Masters In Divinity at Eastern Mennonite Seminary with PhD ambitions in the study of Theology. I am married and have been for several years and I currently reside in Virginia.

Leave a Reply

